Skip to content

South African Adventure

November 23, 2011

Photo nicked from the Para Taxi FB wall. http://www.para-taxi.com

How it came about:
Four weeks ago Para Taxi contacted The Flying Effect in need of tandem pilots ASAP, they had seen our ‘cry for a PG job’ on the Paragliding Forum. As I am unfortunately not a tandem pilot yet I suggested that if they needed a retrieve driver, assistant, intern or whatever… in a couple of months (as I’d just taken on a big freelance graphic design job and I really needed to make some (or a lot of) money to cover my last travelling stint and a new glider) … I’d be there.

They immediately wrote back saying they actually did have an opening for an internship, ASAP. So, naturally, I threw my well paid option to the wind and eagerly replied Yes, please! We spoke on Skype, came to an agreement and I booked a flight to South Africa. This is the kind of opportunity you don’t shy away from when it comes falling at you from the sky!

The Internship:
Para Taxi, Cape Town, South Africa, 6 months.
I will learn all about running a PG company by being immersed in the daily operations of a PG company.
I will get the chance to train as a tandem pilot.
I will fly in freakin’ South Africa!!! :-)
I will see, live and breathe in a new-to-me country and it’s culture.
And last but not least, hopefully my skills from previous jobs and life experiences will benefit the company and the team.

Ása and her brand new Niviuk Hook 2

What about Ása?
Ása is going to enjoy winter flying in Iceland on her new Hook, pursue her other passion which is graphic design and spend time with family. She is an adorable little Christmas child at heart who spent last Christmas alone in a 3 star hotel in Agadir, Morocco (while I was stuck in Arcachon, France, supposedly on my way over but never made it, that sucked) and the Christmas before that she was freakily ill with food poisoning in Pokhara, Nepal (with me force-feeding her salt-solutions and running out for more toilet paper). Good times, for sure, but she’s more than ready to spend this holiday season being merrily fed Christmas brew and running out for more wrapping paper.

I know her witty posts and grinning face will be missed from this webpage so I’ll be sharing news of her here from time to time.

8 days to go!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. November 23, 2011 10:07

    Wow! What an opportunity! Good luck Anita and I’m certain me and the misses will be following you closely.

  2. November 23, 2011 13:54

    Congratulations and good luck down there Anita x

  3. Irene Hessling permalink
    November 23, 2011 17:05

    Hei Anita :) Stein and I (who you met in Epidavros, Greece) are going to Cape Town and Birdmen Paragliding for two weeks from Dec 4th. Maybe we’ll see you there!! :) haha small World :) All the best to you!!

    • November 23, 2011 17:12

      Wow! That’s awesome! Would love to see you guys again :-) I’ll be there from 2. Dec and based in Cape Town. Yay, look forward to meet up again hopefully :-)

  4. November 23, 2011 19:02

    Can’t wait to hear all the stories!! How exciting! x

    • November 23, 2011 22:29

      Thanks, I’m really gonna try to be an active blogger :-) x

  5. Inga Heiða permalink
    November 23, 2011 23:01

    Æðislegt blogg og til hamingju með þetta frábæra tækifæri og spennandi djobb. Ég vona svo heitt og innilega að ég hafi tök á að kíkja í kaffi til þín einhvern tímann …. við erum að tala um að Table Mountain er á listanum mínum !!! Sæt myndin af lita jólaálfinum okkar .. sem betur fer verður hún eftir, veit ekki hvort ég hefði meikað að missa ykkur báðar AFTUR. en þú manst auðvitað að ég tilheyri þér ;-) híhí … knúúúús!

    • Ása permalink*
      November 24, 2011 14:52

      jólaálfurinn þakkar sætt komment og minnir á að þú ert alltaf velkomin í kaffibolla ;)

  6. November 23, 2011 23:26

    Takk takk elsku vinkona, já ég vona svo að þú náir að skreppa til mín í kaffi, ég skal reyna að vera þarna í nokkur ár því ég veit að farið er dýrt og það tekur tíma að safna :-) Svo fer ég með þér uppá Table Mountain eftir kaffisopann og flýg þér niður! Waahoooooooo :-)
    Tilheyri þér too (hljómar betur en líka)!

  7. May 15, 2012 16:21

    I read and feel at home. Thanks the creators for a good resource..!

  8. June 15, 2012 06:11

    I really like this excellent design. What kind of design are you using?

Leave a comment